Should Cycling Helmets Be Compulsory?

Captain Scarlet

60 members have voted

1. 1. Should Cycling Helmets Be Compulsory?

Basically my final piece of work for my TV and Film course at college, coming here to hear your points of view towards the subject of helmets in cycling.

I am of course a regular trials biker and sometimes cyclist who always wears will argue the case for wearing a helmet, yet I work in the cycle trade and contrastingly would hate to see business slow like Australia when they introduced cycle helmet compulsory.

So I will be discussing this topic in a subjective manner, giving myself a balanced argument for and against, if anyone wants to share; opinions, data, research, previous projects or anything related then it will be more than appreciated.

Thanks!

Edited by Captain Scarlet

Well i suppose if you get really into a dangerous form of biking like trials then you youuld have the brain to know to wear one. If your just the kind of person who rides every so often and doesnt do much then you dont really need one. All in all we have too much laws in the country so i disagree.

I think for things like road cyclists they should be compulsory as those guys can reach some pretty high speeds, my cousins husband took a corner too fast last weekend and crashed into a wall, think he was doing about 30 and ended up breaking a lot of bones but it could have been a lot worse.

As for other forms of cycling, trials, downhill, cross country, I think it should be down to the rider themselves as they'll know their own limits on a bike and what they're gonna push themselves to do. If your just going down the odd main road to get between trails I dont think it need be compulsory, common sense should be used here.

Why should everyone pay (NHS) for someone to be treated for a serious head injury and maybe long term disability because they couldn't be bothered to wear a helmet ?

What if I fell over in the street, injured my head and I wasnt wearing a helmet?