Brand New Trials Rider

Connor Johnson

Hey guys, so I've never even touched a trials bike before; the the riding I do currently is uphill and downhill mountain biking, but I'm really excited to start trials. I was wondering, though, what kind of bike I should get, what's easiest to learn on, do's and don'ts a beginner might not know, etc. I'm a freshman in college so money is pretty tight; I guess I'm just looking for an affordable bike that's good for learning on, then I'll get a nicer one later. Any help is much appreciated, thanks!

Connor

Hey Connor ,welcome ! Since you're already a cyclist ,trials should be an interesting challenge for you . This site offers plenty of useful information for beginners through to advanced levels . As to choice of bike , there's plenty of choice in terms of wheel size and intended use - have a look through our bike gallery to get a feel for what's available and what you like the look of .

Hi Connor.

When choosing a bike, keep in mind that a lot of people will recommend a Mod (20"/19" wheel size). You will learn faster, but if you start on a Stock (26" wheel size) you will learn more of the fundamental skills that will help you in the long run.

And as you already ride a mountain bike, moving on to a trials bike with the same sized wheels won't be as big of a change that you would find if you were to choose a mod.

Alternatively there is 24"/26" street trials which is growing in popularity, it's street/BMX influenced trials riding.

I had the best time of my life when I first started trials, everything seemed to be a lot more exciting back then. So I'm certain you'll find it fun as well as challenging.

At the moment there are 3 main types of trials bike that people use.

Stock:

ECHO-CONTROL-WHITE-FRONT.jpg

Mod:

ECHO-2011-BIKE-20-MK2-REAR.JPG

24" Street:

L_INS_Team_Green_1_RH_Side.jpg

I'd recommend looking in the videos section of the forum to see what style you might want to go for.

Hope this helps.

Luke.