Piece of shit Neon/Because forks

Skorp

I hate bad forks. Broke my Neon curved fork some months ago. Luckily i noticed when trackstanding.

This time i was not so lucky. Bunny over a small ledge and flat landing. No big deal at all.

The Because fork broke, and i had no chance to dampen the fall. My face took it :)

rdKs8CT.jpg?1

620JiWJ.jpg?1

R4vRmrB.jpg?1

HOgHGp3.jpg?1

I have Trialtech forks now. Should i trust them? :P

• Like 1

I'm mostly riding with brakes, but this time i was showing trials to a friend so he borrowed my trialsbike with brakes.

I have trialtechs on my bike with brakes, have there been any breakage of these?

I have been riding trials for 10 years now, and have broken two forks in that time. Have mostly used Echo Urbans which have been bulletproof.

EDIT: Yep, one tooth and chipped another! Estimated cost by my dentist: 500gbp. 3 stiches in my forehead and 4 stisches in my upperlip.

Edited by Skorp

Shotblasted frame :)

Thanks everyone, be cautious with these forks..

Do you know what media was used to blast the frame? There's a good possibility that it was this that has caused the failure of your forks. The fracture is a perfect fatigue failure which has propagated from an initiation point, a stress raiser, possibly caused by some overzealous removal of paint from around the welds/crown of your forks. Although shot blasting is primarily used as a way to increase the fatigue life of a component, if not done properly or with the correct media for the material, it has quite a large detrimental effect on the overall fatigue life.

You can see in the picture that they have been cracked for a while before they finally gave up. The crack probably started not long after the frame was blasted.

I feel your pain though! Not nice!

• Like 1