Rowlly's noobie mtb questions thread

Rowlly21

Hi there

Just bought myself a MTB, been out on a short ride and found that my seat was way to hard !!

Now is it a case of going to a shop and trying out different seats or can you guys point me to a decent one ??

I will be used for Xc

Total newbie to MTB

Edited by Rowlly21

General consensus I find is that Charge Spoon saddles are the way to go though like you I haven't really ridden much MTB so can only go off other peoples opinion. Personally I have a Superstar Peak saddle on my Santa Cruz and I love it, done very well for me so far!

If you are totally new to MTB (I suppose you don't ride a road bike either) it might be the case that there is nothing wrong with your seat, but the fact you are not used to be on one for a period of time. it is more important the shape of the saddle than how soft it is. As with most things, there is no saddle that suits everyone. I would ride your bike as it is for a while before investing in a new saddle, you may find the pain goes after a few rides.

SDG Bel Air RL ti for me at the moment, super comfy and 10 years old now, but when it finally wears out I will probably get a spoon. Are you wearing proper padded shorts?

Nope just normal shorts, do they make a huge difference ?

If you are totally new to MTB (I suppose you don't ride a road bike either) it might be the case that there is nothing wrong with your seat, but the fact you are not used to be on one for a period of time. it is more important the shape of the saddle than how soft it is. As with most things, there is no saddle that suits everyone. I would ride your bike as it is for a while before investing in a new saddle, you may find the pain goes after a few rides.

Will try this cheers, but only been doing 30-45 minute rides and my arse is killing by the end haha

Nope just normal shorts, do they make a huge difference ?