3D Printers

monkeyseemonkeydo

Not sure how successful this'll be but thought I'd give it a try. I've just bought my first 3D printer at work (Ultimaker 2) and am now in the process of working out what I can use it for so thought a thread may allow people to share their experiences, models etc. and give people ideas.

Besides the usual printing test pieces and robots my first 'useful' print has been some U-clips for the Arcade because for some weird reason the cable guides on the frames don't seem to work with standard clips so I've been using zip ties for the past 18 months...

post-1823-0-76995600-1441183290_thumb.jp

post-1823-0-14442700-1441183420_thumb.jp

And next to the original one.

post-1823-0-22939500-1441183429_thumb.jp

Anyway, anybody else got a printer and doing fun/useful things with it?

I love that you've bought one for work, and are now working out what you can do with it. My sort of logic. I haven't got round to getting one yet, but I know I want to. Same problem though, not much of an idea what to actually make...

I love that you've bought one for work, and are now working out what you can do with it. My sort of logic. I haven't got round to getting one yet, but I know I want to. Same problem though, not much of an idea what to actually make...

Oh, don't get me wrong, I have ideas of what it could be used for at work but that's all fairly mundane boring stuff so am trying to think of bike/motorbike/toy/gadget related stuff to 'test' it on first :-

And Ads- yeah, braided hoses on Hope Tech Trials. That and the non +20mm disc mount on the mk1 frames have been my only 'issues' (now running a 160mm rotor on the rear with Jitsie pads because I didn't like running the adapter!).

• Like 1

Which did you get, out of interest?

Printer?

Ultimaker 2