MTB 29er Gearing Advice

MadManMike

Morning chaps!

I'm looking to switch my gears from the standard 3x9 to 1x10 or 1x11.

I'm a total noob when it comes to gears, so I'm looking for some advice on what to buy, otherwise I'll end up spending cash on something that isn't compatible.

I'm not looking to spend silly amounts, but then I don't want something crap either.

Any advice appreciated!

Stick with 9 on the back and just chuck a narrow wide on the front. Base the size of the chainring on your anticipated requirements, do you find you're in middle or top ring most of the time? Ideally your chain should be running on the middle of the cassette for your cruising gear but a compromise is often required to still allow climbing.

I'm running 32/11-34 9 speed and don't struggle with low enough gearing for climbs,  however it is a little low for road work and I spin out at about 28mph. On general flat trails and road I'll cruise in 8 or 9 so in reality I could go up to a 34/11-36 to gain some top end but still keep the same nominal climbing gear.

• Like 1

I'm normally in the middle ring. I used to drop to the lightest ring I could for climbs, but I stick to middle ring's lightest gear these days.

Good shout changing the front only, much better for my wallet!

I don't know how gear ratios work, but I'm guessing a ring kind of in between the middle and lightest would be best, to still allow steeper climbs?

What's the lowest gear you ever tend to find yourself in at the moment? Getting something that'd put your new "first" around that ratio would be about right in that it'd retain the Climbability for demz hillz, though you'd lose out a little on top end. That said, if you're beyond spinning out rage then you're likely going downhill and, if the impression I've got of what you tend to ride is correct, you're probably not too worried about losing that 1mph in those scenarios?

Next thing you'll need to worry about with a single front ring is keeping the chain in place.