New To Mod, Just A Quick Question On ...

Bobby Fox

Just a quick one, im new to mod and have been riding a stock with vertial drop-outs for god knows how long.

Ive got my bike built up with snails fitted, ive also marked where the snails meet the frames snail cam bolts so i can see if there has been any movement. A ride or so later and the chain although not completly slack is a bit looser than i used to have on my stock and you can see a very slight curve in the chain from a side on view. The snail cams or wheel hasnt moved at all, just wondering if running snails tends to give slightly less chain tension and is this normal for a mods chain to be like this? It rides fine by the way.

sorry if this is a lame question just needed a quick answer to put my mind at rest cheers for the help guys nice one.

I'd move to cams with teeth, mine was doing the same thing, i switched, problem solved.

New chains tend to stretch more, older ones shouldn't. Watch out if you're running a front freewheel as depending on what angle the cranks at it can alter the chain tension.

I'd move to cams with teeth, mine was doing the same thing, i switched, problem solved.

New chains tend to stretch more, older ones shouldn't. Watch out if you're running a front freewheel as depending on what angle the cranks at it can alter the chain tension.

Just ordered some trial-tech cams with the notches. What do you meen about the front freewheel and the angle of the cranks? sorry im a bit slow today :P cheers for the help though guys much appreciated

Just ordered some trial-tech cams with the notches. What do you meen about the front freewheel and the angle of the cranks? sorry im a bit slow today :P cheers for the help though guys much appreciated

You'll notice when you turn the cranks around that there will be a tight spot and a slack spot.