Modern Stock Frames Vertical Dropouts?

Revelation

So what is up with all the newer/modern stock frames (Koxx, Neon, Onza, Monty, etc) being made with horizontal dropouts?

Yes, I know we dont run gears any more. However, from my experience, with vertical dropouts, I never ever have to mess with the chain, brake allignment and gearing issues. And with a good spring tensioner like I have right now, the chain is pretty much as tight as it gets.

I also have to add that I never have to worry about chain stretch too.

I know of other riders with horizontal dropout frames, I can always hear the chain slapping the frame. And when they take the wheel off, it takes so much effort to put it back on.

I've been using vertical dropouts since I started riding, and couldn't have been any happier.

Now, I'm considering a new frame with more modern geo and they are all horizontal dropouts!

Where did all the vertical dropout frames go? Am I the only one realizing this?

Of course, there might be a slight weight advantage with the snail cam set up, but I simply cannot stand them!

I really like the new Slate2's geo..

Edited by Revelation

Sounds about right. Horizontal dropouts are a waste of time. I haven't ridden for just over 3 years, and coming back into the scene, there's a hell of alot changed unfortunately. Ok, some stuff for the best, but its like having to learn again which sucks.

+1 vote for more vertical dropouts

Horizontal dropouts are the only way in my eyes!

After switching to horizontal last year for the the first time, I wouldn't want to go back. I've had so much trouble in the past with snapped tensioners and mech hangers. Its great to be able to practice balance lines and hopping onto rails etc without any worry of bike damage. Not to mention it gets rid of any chain wrap issues, and now I have confidence to really crank the pedals on short run ups instead of holding back for fear of slipping.