What Bike? (Sorry, You Must Have Had So Many Of These)

Jimbob 2705

Hi Guys,

I have always been into Bicycles. About 3 years ago (I am 13 years old) I started riding my MTB around my parents farm, jumping of small walls which were only about a foot or so. I live in the UK.

In the last year or so, I have been getting more confident. I like to do jumps (I set up a mountain board jump at started at the top of the drive which is basically a hill, I got about 3 foot high air and jumped about 5 foot). I then started to practice wheelies, then once I got a bit more confident, wheelieing off small ledges (only about a foot).

I haven't done that much in the last 6 months as I normally do because of a few reasons:

1) It gets dark a lot sooner in the winter so when I get home it is dark.

2) I have been playing a lot of rugby.

3) I don't have a suitable bike. I find a MTB to heavy for the sort of things I want to do.

I made the mistake of buying a BMX about 6 months ago, I'm not into doing tricks at all. I like jumps and more technical stuff. I like having a suspension as it always feels so harsh when driving off a little wall or anything like that. I have noticed that trials bikes don't have a suspension, or do they? :rolleyes:

I was thinking a Trials Bike would be more suitable for the sort of things I want to do? I will be riding it around a farm, which is mostly concrete. I will hopefully be jumping off walls, going over and around obstacles, jumps, wheelies, that sort of thing.

Will a Trials Bike be suitable? Also, what would be a suitable beginners bike? I don't want to spend to much, but then I don't want a crap bike. What is the minimum price I should look to spend on a trials bike?

Any advice/help would be very much appreciated ^_^

Thanks,

James

I hope I haven't bored you all to death, sorry if I have though. Hopefully you know what it feels like not knowing anything about the sport you want to do!

• Like 1