dropping out of uni advice

harmertrials

Basically I'm in my first year of uni and am trying to work out the best way to go about dropping out. Just wondering if anyone else has ever been in a similar position and can offer some advice.

I live in a house and have signed a contract that runs up until the end of june. Is there any way out of this contract or is my only option to continue paying for my room.. or find someone to take it (mates wouldn't be best pleased with this)?

Also, I assume that as soon as you drop out you no longer receive anymore of your loan for the year?

I dropped out of my foundation year in Sheffield literally weeks after getting my xmas loan and they hunted me for the money that they just gave me.

They kept ringing me up at really annoying times, threatened me with bailiffs etc. Just kept ignoring them until I finally spoke with them and arranged to pay it off like £30 a month for a year or something.

I'd plan the timing just right dude, before your xmas loan etc

You're pretty on the money with regards to your renting agreement. There can be slight tweaks from contract to contract but generally you'll be liable for payment until you can find someone to take over the contract from you.

Chat to your uni about the tuition fee scenario. Chances are you'll be able to leave at Christmas and not have to pay the next installment of your loan but check this with them (If you want to be extra safe confirm with Student Finance England too).

Definitely better to get it all sorted this side of the Christmas break though, so get on it asap. If you end up sticking around a little bit next year it's going to be much trickier to avoid having to pay at least a few hundred quid somewhere!

Thanks luke that's actually really helpful. Got so much going on that I hadn't even thought about contacting student finance. Will get a list together of stuff to get on with this week.