Handlebar/stem setup.

dave5150

Hey guys, I'm new to trials and I bought a 2011 Inspired Fourplay Team that a guy built custom.. I'm struggling to learn how to balance on the rear wheel. I can pedal kick "okay" but I'm stressed that I can't balance on the rear wheel. I think it might be because of the bars and the stem.. the bike has an inspired high rise bar and a hope stem . I tried messing with angle but it's not helping.. do you have any suggestions?

practice more as with most of us it can be like 3 or 4 months you just can do it 1 day bit the rest of the week you cannot but then 1 day you wake up go out on your bike and you can just do it like you have been doing all the time you will get it just keep trying and practise

If you can pedal kick okay, it may not be the bars. Street frames such as the inspired fourplay don't really need excessive stem lengths because it makes performing beginner street moves, like bunny hops, endos, pivots, etc., more difficult.

Additionally, you can try lining the rising part of the bar up with the headtube, or even inline with the stem like the TGS setup.

edit: formatting

Edited by woahroger

To be honest a Fourplay is never going to be amazingly easy to hold on the rear wheel especially for a beginner. The relatively low BB is to make it stable for mostly 2 wheeled moves which is pretty much what the frame is designed for but that's not to say you can't hold it on the rear. If you want to make life easier on the rear then I'd recommend something like a 110mm stem but the angle depends on how much steerer you have and how tall you are.

Probably worth trying some new bars like trialtech high rise or if you're happy with those then go for a 110 x 25° stem.

I'm not sure what you mean by learing with pallets but if it's to lift the front wheel up I wouldn't bother, just keep working at it and you'll get there. It's not going to be an overnight thing, took me years to be able to backhop and balance on the rear properly!