Facebook promoting gurus

Duncy H

Is there anyone on here that has any tips for me in terms of Facebook promoting? It is for a pub I manage at the moment and I'm basically after reaching out to as many people as possible however I am new to this side of things.

Is there anything that's really worth doing and anything particularly worth avoiding? We've boosted the odd post here and there but thats as far as its gone at the moment.

Any help would be appreciated.

Main tip from me is "don't use the boost post button". I wrote a, now really outdated, blog on it a while ago.

Other tip is don't fall into the "as many people as possible" trap. You don't want as many people as possible, you want as many people who already love your pub but don't know it exists yet. That comes from analysing the current patrons of the pub, finding the actual patterns (no gut feeling here), and then replicating that audience through Ads Manager.

If you can be strict with yourself on both of those counts, Facebook Ads are some of the highest ROI spend you'll make online.

Although it's probably pretty obvious too, not posting shit stuff is a really good way of getting more people seeing it too.  When we post what I'd class as "good" content, we generally get way more overall reach and interaction than just average, day-to-day type stuff, and if we hit a streak of that good content it seems to generally make a reasonable difference overall.

As JD said, we found that going for people who are likely to be interested in us works better too.  We used to keep more tabs on who was doing what online, and our interaction level was generally better because we didn't just go out and do a million "Like and share" type posts to just get as many Likes as possible, irrespective of whether they're actual useful.

We do just generally wing it though, so none of what I've said there is gospel or anything, just what seems to work for us.