3D Design Request

JD™

Howdy all. 

Cheeky request, not expecting anyone to actually be able to spare the time to help, but figured I'm not in a rush so I might as well try.

I'm building myself a home bar, because alcoholic. I've just bought some taps, and was about to buy some handles when I thought I'd like to do something a little different to the ones I've seen. I needed to number the taps anyway, so that I can put a board up somewhere showing what beer is on what tap, so I figured I could incorporate it into the handle.

I have access to a MakerBot ZX1 3D printer, so I'm going to print them. What I want is four handles with the number incorporated like this shoddy example:

Screen Shot 2016-05-25 at 16.53.07.png

The idea being that it would look like the white area had been cut out of a normal handle. The number would be shaped so that from the top and side the handle followed the normal shape. 

I have no experience with any 3D modelling, so I thought I'd see if anyone else fancies helping out before I try to learn that and frustrating myself!

Not perfect. Have you got a particular font for the numbers?

The problem with trying to match a font for all four handles is that the 'outline' of the number needs to neatly fit inside a circle...

Part2.JPG

Part1.JPG

Edited by Pete.M

Whoa, that was quick!

I've got a lot to do in terms of knowing the dimensions it needs to end up, as well as how to make sure that it ends up facing the right way when screwed on, and working out fonts and the like. Really impressed with that though, thanks for letting me see that what was in my head should look pretty good.

Do you mind if I get back to you when I know the details and get you to do them? Happy to work something out payment wise.

Don't worry about having the number facing the right way once screwed on, simply use a lock nut below it to set it in the correct orientation :)

Were you going to have the thread printed in or were you going to tap it yourself?