Which rear wheel hub?

iron_panda

Hey guys, I'm wanting to put some disc brakes on my bike but I'll need new hubs. As far as I can see, there's two ways going about this, buying some wheels (new or used) that have the right hubs or just buying new hubs and use the original wheels and spokes and set the wheels up myself. I would like to buy just the hubs and do the work myself as I would like to know how it's done. But on tartybikes there's 116mm and 135mm, Free and fixed hubs and I can only assume if I'm going to use the original parts, I'd need the same size and type right? But I'm not sure what measurement and type my current hubs are. Where would I measure from and to and how would I know if it's fixed or free? (Sorry for the complete newbie question and if I've got some of the terminology wrong, it's all still very new to me :))

On a side note, what are the differences between 116, 135mm free and fixed?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Bike: 24" Onza Zoot 2012

Photo 10-08-2016, 21 15 15.jpg

6 minutes ago, jeff costello said:

free hubs have a built-in freewheel (like hope hubs and mtb hubs), fixed hubs only have a thread onto which you screw either just a fixed cog (front freewheel setup) or a freewheel.

Ahh so at the moment it looks like my bike has a fixed hub?

it's easy to spot when you know what you are looking for, screw-on freewheel are a lot thicker than fixed cogs. 
freewheels: http://www.tartybikes.co.uk/complete_freewheels/c16.html
fixed cogs are just a piece of metal with no built-in mechanism. 

you have to have one freeweheel in your drivetrain either in the front (on your cranks) or in the back (on your hub). if your chain keeps moving when your bike is coasting and you don't move your feet - that's a giveaway for a front freewheel setup. i suspect you might have one like this, but it's hard for me to see in your picture.