Help With 203mm Rotors

David Biddle™

Hello there

I need a bit of help/info on using 203mm rotors at the moment im running 180 front and 180 back they seem ok but just don't have enough bite/power.

I don't normally run discs always been running maguras so i'm still a little new to discs what are the pros and cons on using 203mm rotors.

My setup at the moment 

Inspired frame, magura mt2 brakes, standard pads and hope trial disc rotors 

Cheers for any help/info

David.

Edited by David Biddle™

Typically moving to a larger rotor on an otherwise unchanged setup will give you more power/bite, but is a little harsher on parts as a result. So long as the larger rotor will physically fit the frame ok then the Inspired should be meaty enough to hack it without any concerns, though you may experience a little more spoke flex depending on how sturdy your wheelbuilds are.

The MT2s are a reasonable enough entry level brake and a larger rotor/aftermarket pads may be enough to beef them up for some casual use, but if you still find them lacking then it may be time to look at moving up the range a little (Y)

Magura EBC Red or magura Trialtech pads are a good choice of brake pads for extra bite. Also if you go too a 203mm rotor, it would be best to upgrade the rear brake adaptor to a much fatter one to take the strain off the bite and flex. It because a lot of people have broken there calipers from upgrading too larger rotors. This type will help https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B073VR6J79/ref=mp_s_a_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1502361194&sr=8-6&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_QL65&keywords=Hayes+203mm+rear+adapter&dpPl=1&dpID=417uGY%2BLmsL&ref=plSrch

Edited by John Shrewsbury

On 10/08/2017 at 9:02 AM, Luke Rainbird said: