Onza zoot Disk Wheels

Djrouge

Hi, I've been searching the forums for an answer but couldn't find it so here's my question..

I want to move to disk brakes on my zoot so was hoping to find an easy straight forward solution.
I'm new to trials bikes and was a bit confused with crankset and didn't want to buy something incompatible with the bike.

So.. If someone has successfully converted their Onza Zoot to disk brakes and wheels and can point me in the right direction (hopefully not too expensive) that would be very much appreciated.

Cheers,

Dj.

you can convert to discs no matter what type of cranks you have but the type of parts you need will vary. the zoot comes standard with a front free wheel setup, where the ratchet is screwed onto the cranks, and a fixed sprocket on the rear hub. this is also screwed on. the hub width is 135mm for the rear and usually 32 spokes (count them) . the hub has a thread on one side to screw on the sprocket and you will need one that has this thread on one side and 6 disc mounting holes on the other side.  as reference tartybikes sell a 'trialtech sport 135mm rear disc hub'  the front hub can be any standard mountain bike front disc hub. a trials brand one will usually have bolts instead of a quick release skewer, which do hold the wheel in better.

unfortunately the rear hubs are rather expensive, and may require a different length spoke when laced into your rims so be prepared for that extra cost. you may find it cheaper to buy a set of used wheels or even an entire bike which already has disc breaks and disc ready wheels to scavenge for parts

Edited by robkerly
  • Like 1

19 minutes ago, robkerly said: