Is it worth a beginner practicing either foot forward?

marg26

I've been doing the trails basics for a few weeks and sometimes try with my lead foot backwards instead. On the one hand I think it might help diminish imbalances, on the other I suspect it's just make things more difficult and wasting a bit of time.

So when I do try I'm not exactly committed to the idea. Should I be or should I just not worry about that until I'm competent?

Edited by marg26

It is a worthwhile endeavor to learn 'both ways,' but ultimately it will slow your progress and frustrate and confuse you at numerous times.  Most people will say they have a 'good' side, but it's more appropriate to think of it as your 'natural' side. It's really akin to trying to be proficient with your left hand if you're naturally right handed; of course you can do it, but you came pre-wired right handed.

Years ago I was a snowboard instructor and the 'official' training was to determine someones 'natural spin' and use that to determine which foot should be forward for that person and go from there. There was no mention of encouraging people to try going the other way just for the fun of it. I was a freestyler at heart and had taught myself to be proficient in both directions so I would encourage some students to try going 'backwards' because in the beginning it all feels awkward so why not give it a go. I have no idea how these students fared in the long run, but at least they could see that being able to go both ways would eventually be a good goal.