Yellow! Newbie here!

stalled

Just thought I would introduce myself to you guys (no punt intended!)! I couldn't find a sub-forum for that but please feel free to move this topic if there is a more appropriate location.

I am a 30ish year old from Portugal, been rinding BMX in and out since about when I was 18yrs old, Flatland to be more precise. For those who don't know the discipline, it's the least popular, way behind Street or Park, it's also the most technical and probably the more challenging of them all. Most people still call it just "freestyle" which is very imprecise.

I rode and learned some tricks during my college years but over the last 10 years I've just been doing it now and then for nostalgia sakes, time is at a premium either because of work restrictions or family ones and sports and hobbies end up being thrown down the priority ladder. A mistake, I know. Nevertheless I do not want to stop practicing some sort of radical sport and I've never really let Flatland of the menu and have always enjoyed Trials and that is what brought me here and now.

So these I believe are my options:

Tight-budget

I actually own an MTB too, a Scott Voltage YZ4 from the 2000's, bought used a couple of years ago and ridden very little since then, half a dozen times maybe, it was meant to be a commuter to ride alongside a friend or my wife and I now understand that what seems to be a Dirt oriented geometry was probably a poor choice, here it is:

scottvoltage.thumb.jpeg.8ccff89124b4284180eedc3b7c47d1ac.jpeg

The suspension is busted, I have to buy another one, I don't believe it is even serviceable, this was a ~$300 bike when new I believe, the stock suspension fork is probably a very entry level product.