Grips?

AlpineAce

Hey guys, my bike came with swapped out BMX grips, the ones with the fine ribs and not the lock on type.

Do you think grips make any difference at all? I normally use a thinner lock on style grip for MTB use. I'm a newbie and looking for anything that can help progression, so I wonder if the thinner grip would give more feel/feedback/response?

Having confortable grips is important to me. I love thin grips for the feeling but the vibrations or impacts are less absorbed. If your riding sessions are long, you will get tired early. But if you have short fingers, thick grips might require more effort ... so it is difficult to recommend you some grips without more information from your side.

Also I have to feel confident. So I hate grips that twist (single side lock on) or slide on the bar (no lock on at all).

That is why I was a big fan of ODI lockon or LizardSkins ones. I had the problem though, that my hands get hurted from the outside collar. With my new tapered fork and new bar, I was lacking comfort. Recently I changed to the PRO Dual Lock Sport grips. They have no outside collar but a retention system to prevent them to twist (expander). I am really satisfied with ! They are available in 30 and 32mm diameter.

EDIT: in addition, I don't like grips with aggressive patterns. It is good for rainy days when crashing with your mountain bike, but on a trial bike, it is too aggressive for the hands (for manuals or bunny)

pro-dual-lock-sport-grips-132.5mm-x-32mm

Edited by La Bourde
  • Like 1

8 hours ago, Alex Dark said:

My personally preference has always been for foam grips

I used to have some on my mountain bike 20 years ago. I didn't like them in wet. But that are the lightest grips available for sure.

Recently I also tried the Lizzard skin DSP. I enjoyed them first but after 6 months riding, the foam on the outside of the bar was deformed (like squeezed) and so thin, that it was like riding without grip.