Chain tension on horizontal dropouts

arw_86

Hi.

I've purchased a used Marino version of inspired arcade.  Steel frame with horizontal dropouts.  I've never had horizontal dropouts before and have a few questions regarding the chain tension.

1) how tight should the chain be?

2) is it normal that depending on where the cranks are in the rotation the chain is different tensions.  Is something bent or out of line?

3) the wheel stops spinning pretty quickly when I lift the rear end and spin the cranks a few times.  (May be a little disc rub) Is this due to friction in the Freewheel (mounted on hub)?  Or is this another sign of chain being too tight?

Thanks for any help.  Im just new to this set up style and it's getting in my head a little.  I want full confidence in my ride otherwise I won't ride it well at all.

Thanks, Adam.

11 hours ago, arw_86 said:

1) how tight should the chain be?

2) is it normal that depending on where the cranks are in the rotation the chain is different tensions.  Is something bent or out of line?

3) the wheel stops spinning pretty quickly when I lift the rear end and spin the cranks a few times.  (May be a little disc rub) Is this due to friction in the Freewheel (mounted on hub)?  Or is this another sign of chain being too tight?

1) Pressing with your finger, you should be able to move it up and down a centimeter or so.

2) Yes this is normal, chain rings and sprockets are never perfectly round or 100% aligned to the center. So be sure to have that cm movement in the tightest spot.

3) This could definitely mean the chain is too tight, as a very tight chain will put a lot of force on your freehub, and a lot of wear too. It of course can also mean the disc is rubbing a lot, or your bearings are beat.

For an illustrated example, see https://youtu.be/88tDcVvS7mU?t=252

Tighten the wheel nuts down very hard to prevent slipping (especially if the frame doesn't have any chain tugs to keep the wheel in position).