Competition for beginners

Somewhat hijacking @jamesb's topic on the rider skill / fitness requirements for UCI competition, it got me thinking from a novice point of view what would be good to focus on for grassroots competition.

I've never done a comp, ever, so I have zero experience of what to expect. From what I understand of comps, I'd probably have a crack at a blue but I don't know exactly what sort of moves I should be achieving to make this worthwhile? For example, should I train for a certain gap to back wheel length? Will I be expected to side hop a certain height? Basically what skills / level of riding should I be focussing on for me to be able to ride 90% of a blue, or any other novice route and actually enjoy it, if not necessarily place high.

It's a bit open-ended, I'm sure, but with collective experience I'm hoping to get an idea of how I should structure my limited ride time as a goal to work toward.

From my experience with comps, it's not so much the size of moves you can do but just being able to handle really awkward, fiddly stuff. It's been ages since I've done a comp, but when I did some the 'big' moves in each section on blue were fine for me, but it was the awkward janky wheel swappy stuff that always cost me dabs. Some of that has been diluted by the switch to trials park venues rather than quarries and natural setups where you might find more awkward stuff, but realistically trying to find some natural spots that'll force you to link multiple moves together will probably be more beneficial for your comp riding rather than just trying to do bigger one-off moves. That'll also hopefully give you some resilience to arm pump! That was a big factor for me in sections. I was always pretty tense in them, so I'd be holding onto the bars harder and pulling the brakes harder than I'd need to, then 1:30 in I'd barely be able to hold on...