Things That I'll Need.

Majixman

Basically, as a few of you will already know - I'm hopefully going to start learning to trials bike soon :D (Good start eh?)

But I'd like to know everything that I'll need, because being a beginner, I have little experience with bikes, and so have nothing for them so far.

Try and keep in mind I’m cheap, and I think I’m gonna budget myself to around £200.

What I need to know are the following things.

1) A tool kit. I've read a few previous posts on toolkits people have considered buying, or tools people carry. So far I have gathered that park tools are the way to go? ^^ When posting tools etc, if you could, I'd like to also know the kind of jobs they fix.

2) Clothing and stuff. I'd like to buy some gloves, and I need a helmet obviously. I am also thinking of getting some bikers shin pads or something (seen people wearing them). So I would like some posts with links to some nice, not too expensive gear.

3) List of bike parts/names/where they go/what they do etc. (I'm not talking about posts like 'Wheel - this is what allows the bike to move and you have two'. I'm talking about the parts which you don’t hear about unless you actually ride a bike for a sport :D he he.

4) A list of quality/popular makes.

5) Slang/abbreviations, etc etc. So I can understand your language. :D he he.

6) Any thing else you'll think I need.

Cheers (Y)

Edited by Majixman

If I were you I wouldn't bother with a toolkit as of yet, it's best to acquire the tools as you start to break things.

Get a helmet obviously (safety is most important), it's personal preference there, what feels comfortable for you and what shape you like. Piss pots are quite popular and cheap, the same goes with gloves, its personal preference. Have a look around www.chainreactioncycles.co.uk and www.tartybikes.co.uk.