G Turn & Fakie Nose Manual Help

weensie562

Any tips for these two tricks?

Whenever I try to g turn, I always end up either not leaning enough over the handle bars and do a regular 180 nose pivot, or I lean too far forward and fall over the bars.

And for the fakie nose manual, I can't even pull the rear wheel up far enough to balance.

Any tips?

Thanks

They're pretty hard. Never got g-turns but could do a fakie nose manual enough to go of a drop. Watch this video and just keep practising yanking the rear end up, you should have your arms straight when you're in the right position.

vimeo.com/12011497

Turns out I'm not good at embedding these days

Edited by bikeperson45

Thanks a lot man, that should really help!

Besides Danny mac's, are there any tutorials for g turns?

Nope, there's been some threads around where there's been some good advice though e.g. -

The trick with G-turns is being able to roll backwards on your front wheel confidently. So if you can get the hang of fakie nose manuals you should then progress onto G-turns.

You should also have a good grasp on being able to do rolling stopie 180s. G-turns are pretty much a combination of the two. The tricky bit is going from having your front wheel rolling forwards, to rolling backwards.

A good way to practice is hopping on your front wheel, letting the back wheel drop down, then flicking the bike back underneath you with your feet, hips and shoulders, letting go of the brake, bringing the back end up again and rolling backwards on the front wheel then grabbing the brake again...Doing this will get you used of the transition of going forwards to backwards in the G-turn.

Make sure you have a decent amount of pressure in your tyre or it's just going to fold as you make the transition.