Stem and bars setup

DYAKOV

I’ve been riding the “new geometry” bikes for the past 2-3 years and I still can’t get used to the geometry (more so on my 20”). I’ve tried a few different stem/bars combos including the following:

clean pro stem 142x27 paired with trialtech high rise bars then clean high rise bars

clean pro stem 164x27 paired with clean high rise bars

clean forged 165x25 paired with clean high rise bars

crewkerz 145x20 paired with crewkerz high rise bars

tms 180x35 stem with jitsie 110 rise bars

And none of these feel natural to me. I had a similar experience on my 26” until I tried comas 130x20 stem paired with clean low rise bars and instantly it felt so natural… Since I discovered that setup I’ve run it on 3 different frames and it never disappoints which leads me to the thought that despite variations in the frame geo a good front end setup will ultimately feel comfortable. Wish I could find a similar setup for my 20” but I don’t really know the “rule of thumb” when it comes to front end geometry, so it’s always a matter of trial and error. Can anyone point me in the right direction? I assume I can’t just run a 150x30 stem with mid rise bars as I would have done back in the day because the frame geometry of my maestro has nothing to do with frames from 10 years ago.

Basically, my 26” feels a lot more stable and I feel like the centre of gravity is further back over the rear axle making it almost effortless to stay on a back wheel with my body straight up. Whereas my 20” feels like it’s pulling me forwards, so staying on rear wheel means slouching over the front and a constant effort to keep the bike up (think that’s probably more to do with the high bb). Not to mention that turning the bars forward feels disgusting on my wrists but with that amount of rise I can’t really have them pointing up unless I want that maestro to look like a bmx….

Any tips?

Cheers,

Nas

Edited by DYAKOV