Pc Help

chrishayton

I guess that's mid high end in terms of todays computers, i'd probably buy it if it was in my price range and i was looking for a new one.

Processor speed is a bit lacking though, unless duo means two 2.4ghz processors(?) (I'm no expert, but i know some shit)

I'll have a sure answer from some leets in just a min, bare with me.

Edited by Fat Pants

Processor speed is a bit lacking though, unless duo means two 2.4ghz processors(?) (I'm no expert, but i know some shit)

Yeah well it apparently doesn't add up so the processor speed is still 2.4ghz even though it has two cores. The boost in performance is huge though, changed from an A64 3500+ (2,2ghz) to an X2 6000+ (3,0ghz) recently and noted a 4x boost in video rendering performance.

Yeah well it apparently doesn't add up so the processor speed is still 2.4ghz even though it has two cores. The boost in performance is huge though, changed from an A64 3500+ (2,2ghz) to an X2 6000+ (3,0ghz) recently and noted a 4x boost in video rendering performance.

plus intel core 2 duo processors are about 2-3 times faster than what amd can offer. even a core 2 duo e6300 1.8 ghz would eat a 2.4 ghz amd processor.

Is this one any better: 256MB nVidia™ GeForce 8600GTS graphics card

sorry didnt see this post, to be honest theres no point in the 8600 gts, dont get me wrong is a good little card.

but you have a 20" screen so if your into games, and want to run them at the screens native resolution your going to need some thing more powerful, so i would go for an old dx9 card.

some thing like a 7950gt or 7900 gtx or gto (same card just different memory speeds)

plus the top end 8 series cards cant even handle dx10 at the moment so it would be pointless buying a 8600 gts, and there is int any games out that support dx10.

Reece

plus intel core 2 duo processors are about 2-3 times faster than what amd can offer. even a core 2 duo e6300 1.8 ghz would eat a 2.4 ghz amd processor.