Pirate Software Penalty

Wrayvon

Does anybody know or know where I can find out the penalty for a company (and also for an individual) using pirated software on their computers?

If you could point me in the right direction that would be grand thank you! :)

Also any legal issues with setting up an office network, as in certain rules that must be obeyed etc.

Many thanks people of TF

Edited by Wrayvon

Ermmm,

Legal issues, not really sure what you're asking for here the only thing I can think of is Data Protection Act - you have to ensure data is not accessable by anyone, password protection, permission settings, physical security (locks, alarms) and frequent auditing. Everything else will come into Health and Safety at Work, and you may be able to include some stuff about Local Laws with broadcasting a frequency (Wireless routers?)

Everything else pretty much comes under company policy to prevent any security issues.

Need any info hit me up a PM, I have a lot of experience with networking and policies :)

So is there not a set minimum charge or anything? Or is that just for individuals I am thinking?

Cheers

Not particularly, theres two extremes...me downloading a copy of Windows 98 for personal use, and me downloading and distributing Windows Server 2008 - two very difference circumstances so I don't think there will be a set minimum - how ever (needs to be confirmed) the maximum prosecution in a Majestrate court is 4 years in prison and/or a £50000 fine?

So is there not a set minimum charge or anything? Or is that just for individuals I am thinking?

You'll basically get sued for the software companies loss of earnings. So it really depends on the software company. I don't think there's any kind of fixed fine.