Caged Or Platform Pedals?

I'm completely new to trials riding and was wondering what's the difference between caged and platform pedals? Pros and cons of both would be great and would give me some insight on what will work for a noob.

FYI, I've never ridden flats in the years I have been mountain biking. Only clipless pedals.

Try-All Cage and below Trial Tech Race Platform.

Cage:

Cons: You can bend the cages fairly easy.

Pro's: still fairly grippy (assuming the cages arn't bent), and there cheep

Platform:

Cons: Cant think of any off the top of my head.. apart from maybe a bit more expensive.

Pro's: They last longer than cage and i find they are a fair bit grippyer than caged pedals.

post-22746-127538841771_thumb.jpg

post-22746-127538848894_thumb.jpg

Edited by Laurence--Trials

Thanks for the input.

From what I've read, caged is cheaper than platforms and grip is very much a personal preference. And I bet shoes make a big difference in how much grip either pedals has.

I guess the only way to know is to try them both.

I never see caged pedals in the mountain bike arena of freeride and downhill. So I was wondering if caged pedals were just trials specific. And looking at bike pictures here, it looks like platforms are quite popular.

Ive got 'Platform' on mine. They seem ok. They have really big 'Screws' in. So grip well.

But i can't really comment since. I'm a noob rider. And ive only ridden my own bike.

And i Prefer them for looks too :D

I found cages are far grippier, the platforms I used to have were naff and I was constantly slipping so now I have like double walled cages which have amazing grip, but if you do slip... You feel it.

Personally I've found cages better, but as been said if you slip make sure you have a claw hammer to take the teeth out of your shins :S

I think if your new you should go for platforms.