Avid Juicy 5. Bleeding Them...

Dan6061

Right.. i'm a right noob when it comes to hydraulic disc brakes... never had one!

Swapped my Avid Ultimate for an Avid Juicy 5, and it could do with a bleed.

Had a quick look at it, and it just looks like a reservoir system like Hopes?

Could I just pour the fluid into the reservoir and let it pour down to the bleed bolt?

Help? :unsure:

Rite mate, when i had to bleed my mates avid juicy carbons witch is basicly same as a juicy 5 you need a special bleed kit that does it with pressure, im sure anyway i tryed doing it like you would a hope but it just worked shit had to take it Lbs because i didnt have the kit..:(

its best done with a proper avid bleed kit. i'd never done one before when i got my codes. took me 15 minutes to bleed both brakes and shorten a hose. the kit allows you to bleed both brakes perfectly and not spill a drop of fluid. i cant say i'd want to try and bleed the brakes at all any other way.

pop into work mate , ill sort you a bled kit out .

its probably the best bleed kit ive used ( though im not a fan of avid juicy brakes) works with 2 syringes one at the lever and the other at the caliper , not much waste fluid either.

let me know man.

grant

Edited by prowler in the yard

I personally do not like the avid juicy brakes. I have them on one of my bikes and the levers are quite fragile, however the bleed kit is an absolutely amazong design and they are the best brakes I have ever had the need to bleed.

Ah nice one, cheers Grant.

If I bring the fluid with me (think it's DOT4 i've got?) hoping that's the right stuff, and then bring my bike/brake in, reckon you'd be able to do it?

thats cool man, dot 4 or 5.1 will work. may be able to do if you pop in , what day you thinking?

203 rotor must look a beast , same size as you rim :P

give a txt to let me know