Backwards Without Pedaling?

Conradm94

You ever used one? I reckon most modern BMX street freecoasters and that KHE would be well up to it. Reckon the slack would be more of an issue.

Ultimately you'd have to determine the suitability based on your style.

Do you know how free coasters work? Even a high quality freecoaster would not take trials-forces for very long because of the method of engagement.

Yeah, which bit is gonna break then?

Everyone bangs on about trials forces and everything having to be really strong and trials specific. Rubbish. Back when I started riding there wasn't all these trials specific hubs and freewheels. I ran a standard Shimano LX hub for about two years without breaking it, then a standard XTR, a Hope Bulb and then a DMR revolver with a shimano silent freewheel that's still going strong on my missus town bike and believe me I've never been gentle with any of em. Not trying to push a freecoaster as a good hub for trials but if you want to do roll backs n your not so fussed on the takeup Issue I reckon you'd be hard pushed to break one of those KHE Geishas.

Everyone bangs on about trials forces and everything having to be really strong and trials specific. Rubbish. Back when I started riding there wasn't all these trials specific hubs and freewheels. I ran a standard Shimano LX hub for about two years without breaking it, then a standard XTR, a Hope Bulb and then a DMR revolver with a shimano silent freewheel that's still going strong on my missus town bike and believe me I've never been gentle with any of em.

We all remember when there wasn't trials specific stuff, and I for one remember almost dying on a number of occasions. With regards to you not being gentle on stuff that maybe so, but were you putting much pressure through them? I'm gonna guess by your current Rocket you arn't exactly a TGS rider who does power move after power move.