Grinding Your Rims.....:-/

montyrider

So basically im getting my brand new echo 07 wheels threw in a couple of weeks but as there anodised tarty bikes wouldnt grind them for me.... i have no tool to do it and need some help finding the right one for the job.

I just wanna know what tool to buy which wont completly rape my rim apart, im not a mechanic but point me in the right direction and ill get the job done. if anyone has a link to a tool shop with what i want that would be awesome.

Thanks people.

Edited by montyrider

OR you could just not grind them, haha.

This will start an argument, but I hate grinded rims, other people have different experiences but I find unground rims work better due to greater surface area contact with the pad (needs to be set up properly so it contacts parallel), and a little tar gives that extra bite. Since buying a new wheel second hand with a grind already on my brakes have been slipping loads! Also pads dont wear out as fast on unground rims.

Anyway, I'll shut up now and let someone explain how to grin a rim, as I would never do it so have no idea, haha!

Davey

sorry it was the one time i was being lazy and didnt check the search button :( we all do it sometime or other...... but i couldnt find jack S*&^ on what tools you need. i can grind it but not really sure what with.

Edited by montyrider

surface area has nothing to do with friction :)

the friciton force is equal to the applied force times the coefficient of friction between the rim and the pad.

I prefer a grind but am using a painted tryall rim at the mo with onza citruses, and it's alright. slips if i land like shite but holds for most stuff. it's ok.

surface area has nothing to do with friction :)

the friciton force is equal to the applied force times the coefficient of friction between the rim and the pad.