Tyre Size Through Maguras

Gringo_el_Bingo

Evenin' all!

I'm new to riding bikes. I've decided to take up trials riding for something different, and I'm building up my bike at the moment. I've got most of the stuff done/coming but I have a tyre question. On the "Chain Reaction" website it states that the Magura brakes will take a 2.5 inch tyre. On here I've noticed people using 2.7 inch tyres through the Magura.

Can I go that high?

If it helps, my rear wheel is a 26 inch Alex DX32.

Please bear in mind that I am old, fat, and have no idea about anything to do with trials riding. I'm here to learn!

Many thanks in anticipation,

Gringo.

is your frame 4 bolt mounts? if so u shouldnt have a problem, because u will not have to use the braket it comes with. if you have got vee brake mounts you will have to use the braket on there, with a 2.5 tyre it should just fit but any other wider it wont fit. ;)

is your frame 4 bolt mounts? if so u shouldnt have a problem, because u will not have to use the braket it comes with. if you have got vee brake mounts you will have to use the braket on there, with a 2.5 tyre it should just fit but any other wider it wont fit. ;)

I see. My frame has a V-brake mount, so I guess I'm limited to 2.5 inch. Many thanks for your swift reply.

As for tyre choice, I'm not really sure yet. I'm open to suggestions, if you know of something that would be good for a 26 inch wheel? I understand that Maxxis are popular.

What tyre are you thinking of using?

Never heard of a 2.7" tyre myself!

Maxxis Highrollers and Nokian Gazzelodi come in 2.7" versions.

I see. My frame has a V-brake mount, so I guess I'm limited to 2.5 inch. Many thanks for your swift reply.

As for tyre choice, I'm not really sure yet. I'm open to suggestions, if you know of something that would be good for a 26 inch wheel? I understand that Maxxis are popular.

I doubt it, measure the spacing of the mount first.