Computer People Help Please

Shaun H

My computer keeps tripping over itself for no appparent reason. When I look at the task manager there's this "System Idle Process" which no matter what happens will take up all the CPU power just because it can. It's only taking up 28k of memory :S

How the hell do I get it to f**k off!!!???!!!??? It won't let me end process on it. Grrrr!

Edited by Shaun H

As far as I'm aware you don't want to be stopping it.

"System Idle Process" runs to keep track of how much time your computer is idle (and how often the CPU is being used, basically)

It won't mess up anything, as it's set to lowest priority (ie. everything else gets put in front of it), so it won't be doing anything if the CPU power is needed elsewhere

I'm no expert, but that's the impression I was given many moons ago

Also, see wiki

In case any computer people who know what they're on about come into this thread, please help me with this question in RSQ if you can!! Thanks :P

i understand these things can freak people out when they dont know about them, so dont worry about the fact that it will seem simple after this:

a CPU/processor is always cycling around a list of instructions which it has put in a queue to do, because it can only do one thing at once. quicker processors seem to be able to do more than one thing at once because they are alternating between lines of code of both programs at tremendous speed. long and short of it is that it is always cycling through this list, even when parts - or all - of the list is empty. System Idle Process is the empty parts of this list. It is not taking up all your CPU power, it is just there to show you that you have that much CPU power remaining. Look into ram problems before you worry about your CPU because if you are seeing the idle process then your CPU has capacity to spare :)

J