Where to start.

Matt_71

Hello all,

I would like to get into trials, my background is bmx and mountain biking.  Have any of you had experience of the trial academy in Cambridge?  I am thinking of taking part in a few sessions to see how I get on?  I am fifty years old.  Am I going to feel out of place, is the academy full of kids or will there be like minded adults there?

I would just like to say this is a great forum, people seem genuinely helpful and friendly.

Thanks in advance.

• Like 1

Hi! Good to see more people riding!

I can't speak for the average age of attendants as I've not been to any of the training sessions, but it's a really great riding venue, and the family that own and run it are super friendly.
At 50, you will be one of the older riders around, but the general trials community doesn't really scorn age like other groups sometimes do. It's much less of a "cool kid" crowd than BMX, and I feel like the average age of a trials rider is a bit older, too. There are plenty of 30+ year olds kicking about. That might just be the people I tend to ride with though.

There's a big reunion ride happening there on August 8th. If you can get along to that, you'll probably get a decent snapshot of the kind of crowd trials pulls. Obviously there's kids riding, but also plenty of teens-through-thirties.

Saying all that - try to just ignore age. It's irrelevant. If you find something fun, do it. I'm 31 and spent yesterday largely surrounded by 8-10 year olds at a trampoline park and Laser Quest :lol:

• Like 1

Thanks for your reply, I will certainly try and attend on the 8th.  It should be interesting as I’ve only seen trials riders in videos.

Hopefully I will be able to book myself on a beginners session in the next few weeks.

Happy riding.

Hi DavidR8,