Simple Network To Share A Net Connection?

rich4130

Hey, we want to setup two computers on one broabband connection, nothing fancy, just cheap, what would I need to do it? Just some network cards, a router thingy, modem and a few cables?

What would be the best stuff to get, and the best place to get it all from? I'm not very good with this sort of thing.

Needs to be as cheap as possible, 'cos I'm paying hehe.

cheers lads.

rich.

If it's just two computers you just need a 'cross over' netowrk able. Thats all you will need.

The you just need to set it up which will be the hardest part.

If it's just two computers you just need a 'cross over' netowrk able. Thats all you will need.

The you just need to set it up which will be the hardest part.

Its to share a broadband connection, the only reason.

How does the modem bit work with just a cross over cable thingy?

cheers.

Its to share a broadband connection, the only reason.

How does the modem bit work with just a cross over cable thingy?

cheers.

Well you have the modem going into one of your USB prots. So you just conect the two netowrk cards up with a 'crossover' network cable. That's it really.

depends on what type of connection you have

if it is a cable connection (ie telewest) then you need an cable router

if it is a connection like bt etc.. that go through your phone line then you need an iosdn router

2 cables to connect each pc together

easy plug and play pretty much

and if you do the method as suggested above then the computer woith the modem plugged into you would need turned on to run interent on the other pc

DAN

Doing it that way would require having the host computer turned on (the one with the modem plugged into it) for the other computer to use the internet.

If you do it that way, a search on google for 'windows internet connection sharing' should help.