How Does Geometry Effect The Ride?

somberlaine

Hello,

This is the another post asking for frame advice! But I don't want to ask which one to get becuse it's a pointless question. Instead I am asking how changes in certain aspects of the frames geometry effects the ride, and how the advantages and disadvantages of that change. (i.e. longer frames are easier for tapping and gapping but shorter are better for sidehops)

Basically, I have been riding for about 7 years (but am only intermediate), but still have my pashely 26mhz from ages ago and have not kept up with changes in frame design. I don't ride with anyone to get advice or to try out frames with different geometry. I ride street but have a 'classic' natural style.

I guess I need to consider top tube length, wheel base, stem length and rise, bb rise and anything else you think is important! If there are any websites I can go to for an answer then let me know, I have tried to research this before I came here.

I have about 350 pounds to spend on the frame.

Thanks in advance.

Michael

Im guessing by classic natural style you mean flowing with manuels and bunnyhops that kinda of riding. If so you want to be looking at a shortish frame with low bb that should suit your style alot better. Id also say something with longish chainstays not something with shorts ones that make the backwheel control good. Im sure someone will give you a decent explanation with abit more experience than me and more detail but thats my say on it.

Right... If you're looking for a decent frame for a decent price which is in no way streety I'd most likely go for either the 07 Zoo Pitbull or the Echo Control.