24/7 Holroyd Review

c.j

I've been riding my 24/7 Holroyd for a few months now so I thought I would write a review about it. This bike isn’t very common as its the first trials bike 24/7 have made as far as I know (I haven't seen another!) correct me if I am wrong. But it is basically based on a zoo! Pitbull.

I like the design of the frame and think that it is a quality build, the welding looks neat and tidy and the paint finish used on the frame looks really nice and stands out from other silver/black frames on the market.

So far I have used this bike for a mixture of street and natural and it seems capable of handling both. The geometry is something around 1090mm long, 20+ bb with 24/7 trials forks. Some people are unaware that these frames come with a 116mm spacing in the rear meaning they are made for a mod/bmx hub, making a wide variety of hubs you are able to use dependant on budget.

Before I built this bike up I was riding an Onza t-vee to get a feel for trials. This bike had vee brakes, 22-18 gearing and 20” wheels so it was a completely different animal but I am happy I made the change from small to big wheels as it is definitely for the better as I feel more at home on 26" wheels. I’ve found that balancing is easier and getting onto the back wheel is easier, I suppose with the different ratio it’s made easier too.

The bike feels much more controllable, it feels nice and stable on the back wheel which makes my gapping more controlled and accurate. I feel that with this frame the increased control has enabled me to concentrate on my technique much more, which means I have improved all round

SPEC-

- Magura hs33 rear brake with zoo! Greens

- Hope mono mini front brake

- Echo 07 rear rim on Onza hub with DT Swiss spoke as recommended by Jonny mc

- Mavic front rim on Club Roost hub with DT Swiss spokes but I am building the same as rear for the front

- Echo cranks with ACS freewheel

- DMR v8 pedals

- Echo bars and Monty stem