Broken Bones - Casts

ForrestDump

Hello everyone,

I'm studying product design at Plymouth Uni and our current brief is regarding healthcare... pretty broad I know. I've narrowed down to looking at the casts applied when bones are fractured or broken.

I am pretty lucky to not have broken any bones though my riding (touch wood) however the insight from someone who has would be really helpful! I looking mainly for information on what sort of problems you found while having/wearing a cast or things that it effected in your life.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Many thanks,

James

Edited by ForrestDump

Having to have casts replaced every week or so due to swelling going down and then rubbing like f**k was pretty annoying... When I did my achilles however, they put me in an air cast - which could be pumped up when required to bring back the stability.

Not being able to get them wet was the biggest ballache I found. I had to put my leg in a bin bag and tape it to my thigh. It still let in a little water and pulled my hair out when I took it off. Some king of leg/arm shaped bag with some kind of re-usable seal would have been ideal.

Itching was annoying too, but a spoke usually sorted that out.

I also found my toes got cold, I did stretch a sock over the cast which helped a bit, but my toes still felt vulnerable. Some insulated sock thing with some kind of toe protector would have been good.

Thanks for the quick replies guys.

Having to have casts replaced every week or so due to swelling going down and then rubbing like f**k was pretty annoying... When I did my achilles however, they put me in an air cast - which could be pumped up when required to bring back the stability.

Did the air cast just allow for it to be adjusted to keep it fitting properly to combat the change in swelling?