Teaching. Anyone on here know anything about it?

RobinJI

Hi guys, this place has been a help to me before in this sort of thing, so I figured this might be worth asking here. I was just wondering if there's many people on here who are either teachers or know people who are? As I'm considering a career change into teaching and I'd like to make sure I've got it all clear in my head before going too far with it. Plus writing this all out will probably help me in its self!

I've always quite liked the idea of teaching. The way I see it, it's something that could well be a satisfying lifelong career with decent benefits, reasonable pay and quite a lot in terms of flexibility of location and job security, as well as looking good on a CV should I decide to go back into industry. It should also help a few character flaws of mine which I'd like to improve on.

I finished my degree last year (BSc in Motorsport Technology) so from what I've read it looks like my best bet would be to get enrolled for a PGCE course, which seems to be university based, but with a lot of time spent in a range of local(ish) schools. It sounds like to get onto this I'll have to take a QTS skills test. Then at the end of this I'll be able to start out for real, as a qualified teacher? It seems suspiciously short (although I've been warned it's pretty full-on) so I'm a bit cautious that I may have left out something?