Question about v-brake

coldriverjoe

Hi! I'm new to trials (and to the forum). I bought a used Inspired Element 24" (I think it's 2012 or 2013) about a month and a half ago and have been practicing the basics. I'm hooked! For context, I'm 41 and have been mountain biking for about 15 years. Oh also I live in the US (Connecticut).

I'm starting to learn to hop on my back wheel and I'm finding that I have to squeeze the brake lever really hard to get a good bite. If I transition from endo to back wheel it's not too bad because I can pre-lock the rear brake and maintain bite, but I don't feel like I'm getting a solid bite when I try a pedal-up to back wheel. It feels like instead of getting an "instant" lock, there is a certain amount of decelerating travel that the wheel goes through. As a beginner, I don't know if that's just the name of the game, or whether the brakes should get a tune up or upgrade in order to grab more instantly. After a session, my forearms are toast from squeezing the brake levers. 

This brake has cable-actuated v-brakes in the rear. The v brakes are Avid Single Digit 5 and the lever is a Shimano XTR (pictures attached). I don't know anything about the condition of the brake pads. But even just squeezing the lever to produce travel of the pads takes quite a bit of force - something very unfamiliar coming from hydraulic disc brakes in my MTB.

Also, I've been reading about grinding the rim to produce better bite. Not sure if this is something that I should consider but the rim is completely smooth.

So I guess to summarize:

1) Hello!

2) Should I expect a more "instant" lock from my rear brake?

3) Should I expect brake levers in my trials bike to require so much more finger force than what I'm used to in a MTB?

3) Does my setup seem appropriate? (I haven't found much about the Avid Single Digit 5 out there, and a search in these forums produced zero results)