The Isis Vs Square Taper Debate

haydon_peter

I will shortly be running new cranks on my bike and am considering the move from square taper to isis.

I am however a bit confused about whether it is actaully worth making the move to isis cranks or sticking with square tapers.

Personally I have never had a problem with square tapered cranks, but I am also under the impression that isis is stiffer, stronger and the way to go.

What are other peoples opinions on this matter?

Should I stick with the tried and tested square taper system that I have never had any problems with or make the move to isis?

Thanks in advance

A confused

Tic

Im in the same boat dude (Y) Its wierd desion, Sqaure Taper is cheaper all round cranks and BB-wise so is there really that bigger difference with moving to ISIS?

Also if you havent tried ISIS then what you dont know wont hurt you (Y)

Its a toughie.. not sure which way I'll go..

I have been using isis for the past3 years or so, I cant ever imagian using square taper again.

I could straight away feel the extra stiffness isis gives. I have also been lucky to have never brocken any bb axle, but with isis I feel more confident.

I also havnt had any roundage problems while using isis unlike when I used square taper.

Ive used both and ISIS did seem to feel a little stiffer. How ever, everynow and then they did come loose. (husslefelt cranks)

At the moment ive got some DDG orbita cranks, theyve been 'the nuts' for me, no problems, strong as anything. Only had them off once to change my chainring. Still as square as the day i got my bike (about a year ago), im and not the lightest of riders...

As long as you do them up properly, they dont round off, come loose or well anything really.

For most people i suppose its a personal preference but i say square taper all the way!

depends what cranks you want, i.e if you've got middleburns, and want new middleburns, i would just go whith normal square taper cranks, eaisier and cheaper.