Beginner Spec - Changes/advice

tuff_runt

hey all,

im in middle of revising for my final year exams at uni, and once again my mind has wondered onto a different kind of biking (last Christmas it was flatland bmx...which I still do).

Ok, I am by no means new to bikes. I have been riding MTBs for 8 years, and know the ins and outs of MTB DH and street, and BMX street like the back of my hand.

However, trials is a new world.

So I drew up a rough spec for a biketo get me started...

Planet-x ali bongo

DMR Trailblades

Mavic 721s (the new version of 521s) on XT hubs (not sure if they hubs will take it)

DMR Moto tyres (maybe something different for the rear?)

Cranks-wise, something like FSA 22T with bash ring

Bar and stem-wise, I iwll probably run normal MTB bars, and a longer, higher rise stem, yeah?

Brakes will be Avid vs probably

Problem - I have no idea if I should buy a bike with 26s like above, or a 20. what are advan/disads? i know there is like the onza t-pro for £400, which would be hceaper than building the bike above, but then i don't know if 20 will be good for all in-city riding.

i also dont know anyone who rides trials (all my mates are BMXers or MTBers) so I cant ride either of these kinds of bikes!

help!

Your idea for a bike would last a long time for a beginner the rear hub would need changing eventually though. A twenty inch would be better for learning on but you should try and have a go on a few different bikes before you make a final descision.