Zoo Pitbull - No Tensioner Required

Tall_Rob

[attachmentid=5786]Hello fellow zoo pitbull riders!

Nifty little trick if your running 22T front and 20T on the rear.

I'm using a standard Kool chain.

I got a bit miffed when i kept landing on the mech hanger. I took out a couple of links to get it tighter and higher up in to the frame when i found out i didn't need to run a tensioner.

To remove the chain or wheel you just have to loosen it and push it forward in to the frame slightly.

I'm guessing someone else has probably done something similar but this is how i did it with my frame.

I've been running this now for 3 months and haven't had a single problem and it's always got perfect tension. Just waiting for the chain to stretch now.

I'm working one a mini bash plate for the rear gear incase i ever land on it so will keep you guys updated if a make it and how it works.

Cheers, Rob Larkins

Two problems with that:

1. You're the only person in the world who runs that gear :P

2. When you land to bash, the chain won't have any give it in 'cos you aren't running a tensioner of any kind, so it'll hit the chain and possibly do some damage to some element of your drive-train.

Good work for getting it like that, but just be careful (Y) That should theoretically work for anyone running 20:18 or 22:18 too... or 16:14...

Two problems with that:

1. You're the only person in the world who runs that gear :P

2. When you land to bash, the chain won't have any give it in 'cos you aren't running a tensioner of any kind, so it'll hit the chain and possibly do some damage to some element of your drive-train.

Good work for getting it like that, but just be careful (Y)

Thanks for the advice. I'll keep that in mind.

So basically, the tensioner obviously tensions the chain but also allows for movement in the frame and as you've said, if i hit the bash.