Sidehop Help

_CRED_

I ride with my right foot forward and I sidehop to the right. Because of this I cannot couch very well when I land on the wall becuse my foot is in the way. Is it worth learning to sidehop to the left or will I always be better to my natural side?

I have been riding for two years and can sidehop about 38"

Hope that made sense :S

Edited by _CRED_

yeah i have been riding for near enough the same time as you, i sidehop with my strong foot on the outside now which i now consider to be more comfortable. When i used to sidehop with my strong foot on the inside i was managing about 38/39" sidehops, now that i have changed my style i am now sidehopping in the early 40's. To start off it will feel strange because your body positioning and body movement wont feel as natural as going with your strong foot on the inside, but once you get the hang of it you will find yourself doing sidehops more comfortably, hopefully higher and in my case with more style aswell. (Y)

Edited by trialsboy_06

I say it would be good to be able to go to either side, so maybe you should learn to do it to the left as well, but don't stop doing it to the right. That way you will have a sidehop for any situation! And probably just more bike control in general.

You should always side hop the opposite side of your kicking foot...eg if your right footed, you should side hop to your left, and if your left footed you should side hop to your right.

This is because the foot you dont kick with catches you when you slip down

I'm left foot forward and started hopping to my right, untill i nearly snapped my mech. So I am just starting to try and learn side hops to my left, they both feel the same so im learning pretty well.

The only advantage i can see to hopping both ways is to save mech's on the right and disc's on the left. But if you ride mod theres no point learning both ways if you allready go to the right.