Car Modding Advise - Noob Here

Egg Fried Rice

Hey guys.

I am due to get a car soon after waiting months and months and as a typical teenager i am looking to do it up. But i would just like some help on a few questions and hopefully some of you guys can help me! I admit i am a complete noob so bare with me lol

first of all...

- What is an offset on a wheel?

secondlyyy

- I have 2 x subs, which have a max watt of 300 each and 2 x 6by9's that 140 each, what amplifier do i need? I could go 4 channel or 2 x's 2 channel amps but i still get confused with all these numbers lol

and last of alll

Lowering springs....full kit? or just the springs? if i just use the springs, will it be suitable with my original shocks? or is it best to buy a full kit.

thats it really, thanks people.

JK

Edited by Johnson Kan

Offset is the distance in mm between the wheels centre vertical line is and where the mounts are. I wasn't 100% so googled, and this bollocks as f**k explanation popped up. Pretty simple concept though.

The offset, measured in millimeters, can be negative or positive, and is the distance from the mounting surface to the rim's true centerline. A positive offset means the wheel is front of the mounting surface, closer to the center of the fender; a negative offset means the wheel is away from the mounting surface and projecting from the fender. Offset affects the scrub radius of the steering and it is advisable to stay within the limits allowed by the vehicle manufacturer. However, if tires are fitted which are significantly wider than those specified by the manufacturer, a compromise may have to be adopted whereby a wheel with less offset is used to prevent the tire rubbing on the suspension.

Is the wattage at max or rms?