Sidehop Technique Help & Questions

the mysterious leemur

Well ever since learning to sidehop a when I was a total noob I have always been told that I sidehop the "wrong way " . I am left footed and gap to the right like most people but I sidehop with my left foot towards the obstacle . Is there actually any problem with doing this as I find the "normal" way uncomfortable and tend to get my right pedal caught . thanks

No problem with it. I know three people that do it.

People only class it as the "wrong" way because so many more people prefer to go away from their front foot.

I used to go your way, but one day suddenly switched. Wasn't a decision, just realized I found the other way easier all of a sudden.

Go whichever way you prefer.

I totally disagree, it's not a personal preference! If your left footed then you need to be going to your right, I know it feels odd at first but stick at it and after a while.

But one day all of a sudden it will feel right.

Oh course it's a benefit to beable to go both ways.

The main reason why its better is because you have to travel less distance, basically having to clear the pedal, and you leg is in the way for body movement.

If you look at every all the riders who can side hop big they all go that way, with no excetions!

I know it may feel totally wrong at first but the sooner you try to learn the better, when going the wrong way you are reinforcing that bad technique into your head, this making learning the correct way even harder

that's because he's used to going one way then has learned to go the other way, of course he isn't going to be as good.

I used to think you should only sidehop away from your forwards foot but I changed my mind a couple of years ago. There is no reason why you can't go as high going the "bad" way plus if you ever start riding street being able to tuck to that side of the bike will really help with bunnyhops and spins.

So you think he could go just as high to his right hand ?