Any plumbers in here? :)

MadManMike

Can TF come to the rescue once again? I'm a plumbing noob, so go easy...

We recently noticed that our hot water was gradually getting colder, to the point where we had no hot water at all. I had a look in our airing cupboard, where the tank and two Drayton actuators are fitted - one for heating, one for hot water.

I had my partner turn both on one at a time and I figured out that the motor had burned out on the hot water actuator, so the valve wasn't opening - hence the water in the tank gradually cooling down, since no new hot water was getting in.

As a temporary fix I took the actuator off and manually opened the valve and left it open. We ordered a replacement motor for the actuator.

After fitting the new motor, the actuator works as it should - you can hear it and see it going through the motions when the hot water is turned on.

For some reason the water is now only slightly warm, unless we press "hot water advance" to give it a boost. We've not changed the timers or anything, so it comes on as it did before the motor died. Before this issue, the water was always hot when we needed it.

Any suggestions as to what may have happened since replacing the motor? It's definitely working as the water gets a little warm and then hot if we press the advance button. With the dead motor, it didn't heat up at all.

For reference, the actuator is a Drayton ZA5, photo of the unit attached.

drayton_27100-a.jpg

Did you change the full valve or just the motor part?? If only the motor the valve its self is at fault. 

Drain the tank down, turn cold feed off and boiler, open hot and cold tap at the lowest point, you’ll have 2 pressure relief valves. You need to crank the top most open slightly and you’ll hear air and it gulping. 

Swap it out and then refil. 

Our system failed before crimbo. Converted to Combi best thing. Did a system convert in 10 hours and new rads plus a flush. 

• 2 weeks later...