rear brakes on Pashley 26 mhz...

Ben Davies

Ladies, Gents,

I've been riding trials on and off for the past 17 years, a few years breaks here and there/part time love etc etc.... my first proper trials bike was a Pashley in 1999 after several small XC frames which I snapped or wrecked in one way or another! 

When I first ever got pashley no.1 home I found setting up magura hs33 a bit of a pain with a mavic d521, the brake was always spongey, squealed like a pig and was just generally really annoying - however, I was in love with the pashley and it looked so much better than the previous bikes I'd had so soldiered on with it...I changed the rim to an X-Lite Phatso after about a year and that made them a bit less annoying to set up but was still never perfect, sadly that bike was sold in 2001 and I regret it to this day but hey ho, these things happen.

Over the years I've have several different trials frames, long/short/no seat etc/20/24/26 inch wheels and something always drags me back to a Pashley - I've had 6 in total over time! every time I've had magura brakes and it has always been a pain in the ass setting them up. 

Has anyone else had this problem with this frame/brake set up? the annoying thing is that the magura evo mounts (which are easier to set up) don't fit the Pashley frame as the brake lugs are to far apart, is there any secret in setting them up on this frame or am I destined for a crap rear brake forever? ....or just sack off the maggie and get a decent V brake?

Advice would be much appreciated as I am currently building one at the moment - a very nice one at that with lots of money thrown at it!!

Ben

On 12/14/2015 at 2:00 PM, Cyder man said: