Massive Gapping

jonnyyork

How is it that so many of the top riders can gap 8+ feet? Anyone who can gap that far can you please tell me if you could gap close to this distance soon after learning a basic lurch or is it something more progressive developing the strength and maybe better technique to do this? I have been riding trials for two years now and can only gap just short of 7ft, and dont seem to be getting any further! I believe my bike has the right setup... 26' A1 (long frame) 18/16 gear ratio and 11.2kg. Once the tecnique is mastered I can only assume it is brute strength pushing bikes across these gaps? Especially after seeing videos of TRA doing heavy weight training! Are all these guys that strong even though they may not look it?

How is it that so many of the top riders can gap 8+ feet? Anyone who can gap that far can you please tell me if you could gap close to this distance soon after learning a basic lurch or is it something more progressive developing the strength and maybe better technique to do this? I have been riding trials for two years now and can only gap just short of 7ft, and dont seem to be getting any further! I believe my bike has the right setup... 26' A1 (long frame) 18/16 gear ratio and 11.2kg. Once the tecnique is mastered I can only assume it is brute strength pushing bikes across these gaps? Especially after seeing videos of TRA doing heavy weight training! Are all these guys that strong even though they may not look it?

Hm mm its not all about strength i mean I'm sure it helps but you can never really have the " perfect" technique you can always improve..... keep practicing