Someones Desperate

Dr. Nick Riviera

I don't really see anything wrong with it? Like someone said, there's Biketrials schools in Spain, and I've heard of them in the US before, and I seem to remember people clamouring to get on the UK ones Ot Pi and Co. did? Like it says on the page, "Ideal Xmas present" - which it would be I guess.

But yeah, I don't see a problem with it? If you're dedicated to your sport, why not make money from it, really? If it means you can 'live your dream' I don't really see the problem at all.

Would you describe Ashton, etc., as being "sell outs" for doing demos, where they're being "trials-hookers" there? Unlikely?

i think it just looks a bit iffy when its sold on ebay

admittedly , that would be great if i was an ickle beginner or something.

BUT

im a right cynical b*****d , and like to find fault in everything :-

i wouldnt call ashton a sellout for doing a demo , but then again he doesnt advertise on ebay.

not that i ever called ben a sellout or anything , it just looked a bit odd , selling 10 lessons at £60 a pop

made me think someone was skint.

He was in the local rag the other day saying about how basically he probably won't ever be able to make any real money riding trials, which is pretty sad really, I mean he is probably the UK's best hope of any real top class result at the worlds and stuff in the future, so if he would have to give up to get a normal day job, it would be a real shame for British riding. I think they were giving away an hour's tuition in the paper, too.

i think we should all start clubs with small membership fees around the country. say, 10er a year, but that would all help pay towards tools for the club, and maybe a designated area with pallets, barrels, cotton reels and the like. although it would have to be in range for everyone in the club to use, so i doubt that it will ever work lol.