Professional?

TheChai

Right, I have been riding for nearly 6 years now.. a long time.. but days when i started riding are still clear in my mind!

anyway! i am curious! and abit tired and bored, When would a rider consider oneself professional? Obviously being a street rider i get to met alot of interested people who ask me about what i do etc.. and when i tell them i am sponsored by etc etc, they say so ur professional then, but i am like.. well not really.. :S

Its so easy to get sponsored these days i dont think being sponsored is good enough to be professional, what would you say you would have to have done or be invovled in before u consider yourself a professional trials rider? and actually feel like you have accomplished something

Opinions please

Compare it to different sports where all the "action" is down to one person, say Golf. You need lots of publicity, public attention, investors, sponsors, media coverage, etc. which trials will never get. The only way you can earn money on this sport is to set up a business. I've earned about 1,40 pounds on riding so far, a bit more on selling parts.

Edit: It's all down to popularity, I think it's in Korea where one of their national sports is a computer game. People earn money and fame by sitting in front of a computer killing goblins...

Edited by Inur

so why arent there people like htat in the uk? i know some riders get paid. mainly deng riders.. but people dont know this.. and the riders dont do enogh either.. its not good enough to make videos for trials... u have to do something more and i am not tlaking competitions either..

i have a job in a club.. and on thursday we had a deal that i would ride the night club, the actual dance floor.. so now thats in play and was well appreciated..

in the next couple of weeks i hope to get a professional photographer down to get some pics of us in the club, and then these would go on to leaflets and hand outs and on the clubs windows..:)